Ho Chi Minh and its surroundings

Ho Chin Minh OR Saigon

Ho Chi Minh, the city of scooters..... And yes to HCMC, there would be more than 8 million scooters walking the streets every day. Noisy, this economic capital of Vietnam reveals its true personality after a few days. At first glance, she doesn't seem attractive. But when you blend into the atmosphere of the city, you feel quite comfortable there. Of course it is not a museum city like Hoi An or like so many other cities. We do not go there because of the beauty of the landscapes and monuments. However, HCMC remains a necessary step when you want to feel the atmosphere of Vietnam and live locally.

Namely, we visited the city of HCMC in a very different way from other cities. In fact we knew a French expatriate who lived there with his Vietnamese girlfriend, so he took us to the nice places, but unlike the rest of the trip it wasn't necessarily for "small budgets". Some addresses are therefore a little more expensive than what I usually recommend. However, as we were with two connoisseurs, we were able to enjoy HCMC in the best conditions with very good advice for parties, outings, restaurants....

What to do in Ho Chi Minh City ?

Even if you don't walk the streets in awe, there are still some nice places to visit in this big city.

  • Walking in the heart of the city

The avenue Nguyen Huê, which they call the Champs-Elysées de Saigon, is worth a visit. This street connects City Hall to the river. It is one of the main axes of the city. Starting from this street you can then continue on foot your way, to visit the other monuments that are right next door. If you want to take a walk in this large avenue, you should go there in the evening for the atmosphere and street lighting.

  • The City Hall

When you finish or start (depending on which way you take it), Nguyen Huê Avenue, you will come across City Hall. It is the emblematic monument of Saigon. It is not open to the public, but can be admired from the outside. It easily represents the colonial colonial period since it was built from 1900 to 1908 and decorated by Ruffier. Next to it, you can make a quick jump to the municipal theatre. théâtre municipal.

  • Notre-Dame Cathedral

There is no possible comparison with Notre Dame de Paris, which the architects wanted to be inspired by. You can try to enter it to visit it. Personally, I could only see it from the outside since it was under construction.

  • Central Post

Not to be missed! It is a very pretty monument, still in operation, built in 1886-1891 by Gustave Eiffel. This post looks delightfully retro. Go inside to get a feel for the atmosphere. On the wall, a large painting hung on the wall of Uncle Ho (Ho Chi Min)

  • The War Remains Museum

Price: 15 000 Dg open every day. Despite a somewhat oriented view of the conflict. The Vietnamese people reported on the Vietnam War with this museum. On three floors, we have a better understanding of what this people experienced and how they were able to win the war against the United States. The international vision of the conflict is widely discussed, which makes the museum interesting. The second floor is dedicated to the war photographers who covered the conflict. Some of them had to leave their lives behind... These clichés have their place in this museum because the work of the reporters contributed greatly to making this war unpopular in the eyes of America and the world. I found this museum very picturesque and therefore very emotional.

  • Discover Pagodas

Pagodas, you will see them all over your trip to Vietnam, if you want an overview here, do not hesitate to go to the pagoda Xa Loi, that of Emperor Jade or the pagoda of Giac Lâm. Xa Loi, celle de l’Empereur Jade ou encore la pagode de Giac Lâm

Where to go out in the evening in Ho Chi Min City?

  • Bui Viên Street

A lively street in the evening to celebrate. The music has no limits, the speakers will probably make you deaf before the end of the evening. Nevertheless nice to spend good evenings surrounded by Vietnamese people.

  • The Indeka bar

Very little known to tourists, this very cute bar on the underground side. The beers are very good but not given if you want quality beers.

  • Go to a horror movie

One evening right next to the King BBQ restaurant, we went to see a horror movie at the cinema. Vietnamese people love horror movies. It's quite funny since their reactions in the room are really overwhelming. We laughed a lot. Cheap session at all.

  • Go out to the rooftop bar on Sky XX

Evening crush at HCMC. You can find the information on their website : https://elements.vn/skyxx/#entertainment

This bar, located at the top of a building, is really famous. I warn you, this may be one of the most expensive evenings you will ever have in Vietnam. But it's really worth it. As soon as we enter, we are greeted by dancers in costumes, who make us a ballet in front of us. We take the elevator, to get to the top of the building. There's a big open-air scene over there. A DJ in the middle and drinking tables. The atmosphere is at its height all evening long. Between dancers' choreographies, shows and nightclub atmosphere, it's a great evening guaranteed!

Where to eat well at HCMC ?

  • Oc La

Sea food restaurant, excellent, where Vietnamese people go when they leave work. A little off-centre but accessible by scooter without problems.

  • King BBQ

It's a chain of restaurants where Vietnamese people like to eat. Unlimited meat and vegetable formula. A little excessive in terms of price but we eat very well there.

Where to drink coffee at HCMC ?

  • Pho-Do-Lar Coffee

A very nice vegetable decoration, the pretty decoration too. Prices not given but smoothies are excellent.

In the vicinity of Ho Chi Min

The Cu Chi Tunnels

Huge underground galleries, in which Vietnamese soldiers hid to turn during the Vietnam War. Before closed to the public, they can now be visited. A real immersion in the past, since you can really enter these huge narrow corridors accompanied by a Vietnamese guide. This is one of the places that has suffered most under the bombs. Thus, we go back in time.

How to get to the Cu Chi tunnels ?

We have taken the bus line 13, look for the nearest stop to your home. Then stop at Cu-Chi. From there, take bus 79 to Ben Duoc. That's where the tunnels are. Be careful, there are two different tunnel sites. We chose Ben Duoc's, as we were told they were the most interesting. The journey takes 1 hour and 15 minutes with the first bus, then 30 minutes with the second. The first ticket costs 10 000 dg and the secod 7 K Dg. It's nothing at all. Less than 1 euro per trip. That's why we opted for the bus.

Immersion in tunnels

At the entrance, we pay 90 k including the guide. The visit lasts 1h30, it starts with a short documentary of about twenty minutes then goes to the tunnels. At the time, there were 3 levels of tunnels. The ones at 3, 6 and 9 meters. During the visit, we enter the 3-metre by 30-metre long ones. In the site there are 250 km of tunnels dug but only a few are open to the public. In some of them, there are reconstructions of war scenes. The site closes at 5pm

The floating market of Can Tho

For about 4 $ per person at 3 hours of HCMC, you can go to Can Tho. A small friendly village on the banks of the river. To get your bus tickets at the lowest price, I advise you to be well in advance on the different ticket offices at the station, as the prices are different depending on the company. Even at the station you can negotiate. We made it out for 90,000 Dg just to go.

Once there, we take a taxi to reach our hotel, booked on Booking for 5 euros. Then, a short walk on the quays near the city centre. Several people call us to book our boat trip for the Floating Market of the next day. We ask about the different prices.

In the evening, a short walk to the Night Market, to eat and enjoy the atmosphere of the city. In front of the Night Market, a very cute place to enjoy a smoothie : Cho-To, sit at the top, to get a view of the market. You can buy it at the market downstairs and then go upstairs to eat it, perched on your stool. 30k the smoothie.

The next morning, get up at 6am to attend the Cai Rang floating market. Return to the pier to find the boat that will take us there for the lowest price. We're getting by for 50 k per person. Phew! Phew!

The walk lasts 4 hours on the Mekong River. A guide on board explains the surroundings. In addition to the market, we take several breaks at places such as the noodle factory, the sauce factory. We can discover how Vietnamese dishes are made. Then, if you wish, you can stop on a small bank to cycle, for that you have to add 2 $. Sounds like fun, let's go! 1 hour of bike ride to admire the small branches of the Mekong. But above all, the most impressive thing is when you stop near a large tree over 130 years old whose trunks and branches fill more than 5000 m2. Impressive!

Overall a very nice morning, even if you can't expect a floating market worthy of the colourful photos you often see.

To read also
Karajini National Park

Visiter Karajini National Park

3 jours dans Karajini National Park Le Karajini National Park Ce parc national est clairement l’un des plus beaux endroits de tout ce que j’ai

Recevez mes bons plans voyages

  • Découvrez mes derniers articles
  • Bons plans voyages
  • Conseils voyages

Ho Chi Minh et ses alentours

La ville de Ho Chi Minh (Saigon)

Ho Chi Minh, la ville aux scooters…. Et oui à HCMC, il y’aurait plus de 8 millions de scooter qui déambulent chaque jours dans les rues. Bruyante, cette capitale économique du Vietnam révèle sa véritable personnalité au bout de quelques jours. Aux premiers abords, elle ne semble pas attirante. Mais lorsque l’on se fond dans l’ambiance de la ville, on s’y sent plutôt bien. Bien sûr ça n’est pas une ville musée comme Hoi An où comme tant d’autres villes. On ne s’y rend pas pour la beauté des paysages ni des monuments. Pourtant, HCMC reste une étape nécessaire lorsque l’on souhaite sentir l’ambiance du Vietnam et vivre de manière local.

A savoir, avons visité la ville de HCMC vraiment différemment des autres villes. En fait nous connaissions un expatrié français qui vivait là bas avec sa copine Vietnamienne, donc il nous a amené dans les endroits sympas, mais contrairement au reste du voyage ça n’était pas forcément pour « petits budgets ». Certaines adresses sont donc un peu plus chères que ce que j’ai l’habitude de conseillé. Pour autant, comme nous étions avec deux connaisseurs, nous avons pu profiter de HCMC dans les meilleurs conditions avec de très bons conseils pour les soirées, sorties, restaurants…

Que faire à Ho Chi Minh City ?

Même si on ne se balade pas dans les rues avec un ton émerveillé, il y a quand même quelques lieux sympas à visiter dans cette grande ville.

  • Se balader au coeur de la ville

L’avenue Nguyen Huê, qu’ils surnomment les Champs-Elysées de Saigon, vaut le détour. Cette rue relie l’hôtel de ville à la rivière. Elle est un des axes principaux de la ville. En commençant par cette rue vous pourrez ensuite continuer à pieds votre chemin, pour visiter les autres monuments qui sont juste à côté. Si vous souhaitez vous baladez au mieux dans cette grande avenue, préférez y allez le soir pour l’ambiance et l’éclairage des rues.

  • L’Hôtel de ville

Lorsque vous finissez ou commencez (ça dépend dans quel sens vous la prenez), l’avenue Nguyen Huê, vous tomberez sur l’hôtel de ville. C’est le monument emblématique de Saigon. Il ne se visite pas, mais s’admire de l’extérieur. Il représente aisément l’époque coloniale coloniale puisque il a été construit de 1900 à 1908 et décoré par Ruffier. A côté, vous pourrez faire un saut rapide au théâtre municipal.

  • La cathédrale Notre-Dame

Aucune comparaison possible avec Notre Dame de Paris, dont les architectes ont pourtant voulut s’inspirer. Vous pouvez tenter d’y entrer pour la visiter. Personnellement, je n’ai pu l’a voir que de l’extérieur puisqu’elle était en travaux.

  • La poste Centrale

A ne pas louper ! C’est un monument très jolie, encore en activité, construit en 1886-1891 par Gustave Eiffel. Cet poste à un air délicieusement rétro. Rentrez à l’intérieur pour vous saisir de l’ambiance. Au mur, un grand tableau accroché celui de l’oncle Ho (Ho Chi Min)

  • Le musée des Vestiges de guerre

Prix : 15 000 Dg ouvert tous les jours. Malgré une vision quelque peu orienté du conflit. Les Vietnamiens ont rendus compte de la guerre du Vietnam avec ce musée. Sur trois étages, on comprend un peu mieux ce qu’à vécu ce peuple et comment ils ont pu gagner la guerre contre les Etats-Unis. La vision internationale du conflit est largement abordé ce qui rend le musée intéressant. Le 2ème étage est consacré au photographes de guerre qui ont couvert le conflit. Certains ont dus y laisser leurs vies.. Ces clichés ont d’autant plus leur place dans ce musée que le travail des reporters contribua grandement à rendre cette guerre impopulaire aux yeux de l’Amérique et du monde. J’ai trouvé ce musée très imagé et donc fort en émotion.

  • Découvrir les pagodes

Des pagodes, vous en verrez sur tout votre voyage au Vietnam, si vous en souhaitez ici un aperçu, n’hésitez pas à vous rendre à la pagode le Xa Loi, celle de l’Empereur Jade ou encore la pagode de Giac Lâm

Où sortir le soir à Ho Chi Min City?

  • La rue Bui Viên

Rue animer le soir pour faire la fête. La musique n’a pas de limite, les enceintes vous rendront surement sourds avant la fin de la soirée. Néanmoins sympas pour passer des bonnes soirées entourés de Vietnamiens.

  • Le bar l’Indeka

Très peu connu des touristes, ce bar très mignon à u côté underground. Les bières y sont très bonnes mais pas données si vous souhaitez des bières de qualité.

  • Aller voir un film d’horreur

Un soir juste à côté du restaurant King BBQ, nous sommes allées voir un film d’horreur au cinéma. Les Vietnamiens adorent les films d’horreur. C’est assez rigolos puisque leurs réactions dans la salle sont vraiment démesurés. On a beaucoup rit. Séance pas chère du tout.

  • Sortir au bar rooftop le Sky XX

Coup de coeur de soirée à HCMC. Vous pouvez retrouvez les infos sur leur site internet : https://elements.vn/skyxx/#entertainment

Ce bar, situé tout en haut d’un immeuble est vraiment réputé. Je vous préviens, cela risque d’être l’une des soirées les plus chères que vous ferez au Vietnam. Mais ça vaut vraiment le coup. A peine entrer que l’on est accueillis par des danseuses en costumes, qui nous font un balet devant nous. Nous prenons l’ascenseur, pur monter tout en haut de l’immeuble. La bas une grande scène en pleine air. Un DJ au milieu et des tables pour boire. L’ambiance est à son comble toute la soirée. Entre chorégraphies des danseuses, spectacles et ambiance boîte de nuit, c’est une super soirée assurée !

Où bien manger à HCMC ?

  • Oc La

Restaurant Sea food, excellent, où se rendent les Vietnamiens en sortant du travail. Un peu excentré mais accessible en scooter sans problèmes.

  • King BBQ

C’est une chaîne de restaurants où les Vietnamiens aiment dîner. Formule viande et légumes à volonté. Un peu excessif au niveau du prix mais on y mange très bien.

Où boire un café à HCMC ?

  • Le café Pho-Do-Lar

Un décor végétal très sympa, la déco jolie aussi. Prix pas donnés mais les smoothies sont excellens.

Aux alentours de Ho Chi Min

Les Tunnels de Cu Chi

Immenses galeries souterraines, dans lesquels les soldats Vietnamien se cachaient pour vire pendant la guerre du Vietnam. Avant fermé au public, on peut maintenant les visiter. Une véritable immersion dans le passé, puisque vous pouvez réellement entrer dans ces immenses couloir étroits accompagné d’un guide Vietnamien. Ce lieu est l’un de ceux qui à leu plus souffert sous les bombes. Ainsi, on remonte sur les traces du passé.

Comment se rendre au tunnels de Cu Chi ?

Nous avons emprunter le bus ligne 13, regardez quel est l’arrêt le plus proche de chez vous. Puis, arrêt à Cu-Chi. De là, prendre le bus 79 pour se rebdre à Ben Duoc. C’est là que que sont les tunnels. Attention il y a deux sites de tunnels différents. Nous avons choisis ceux de Ben Duoc, puisque l’on nous a dit qu’ils étaient  les plus intéressants. Le trajet dure 1h 15 avec le premier bus, puis 30 minutes avec le second. Le premier ticket coûte 10 000 dg et le secod 7 K Dg. C’est rien du tout. Moins de 1 euros le trajet. C’est pour ça que nous avons opter pour le bus.

Immersion dans les tunnels

A l’entrée, on paye 90 k comprenant obligatoirement le guide. La visite dure 1h30, elle débute par un petit documentaire d’une vingtaine de minutes puis direction les tunnels. A l’époque 3 niveaux de tunnels existaient. Ceux à 3, 6 et 9 mètres. Pendant la visite, on entre dans ceux de 3 mètres sur 30 mètres de long. Dans le site il y a 250 km de tunnels creusés mais seulement quelques un sont ouverts au public. Dans certains, on y trouvent des reconstitutions de scènes de guerre. Le site ferme à 17h

Le marché flottant de Can Tho

Pour environ 4 euros par personne à 3 heures de HCMC, vous pouvez vous rendre à Can Tho. Petite village sympathique en bord de rivière. Pour prendre votre tickets de bus au prix le plus bas, je vous conseille de bien avancé sur les différents guichets à la gare, car les prix sont différents en fonction de la compagnie. Même à la gare vous pouvez négocier. On s’en est sorti pour 90 000 Dg allée.

Une fois arrivés là bas, nous prenons un taxi, pour rejoindre notre hôtel, réservé sur Booking pour 5 euros. Ensuite, petite balade sur les quais proche du centre ville. Plusieurs personnes nous interpellent pour que l’on réserve notre balade en bateau pour le Floating Market du lendemain. Nous nous renseignons sur les différents prix.

Le soir petite balade au Night Market, pour manger et profiter de l’ambiance de la ville. En face du Night Market, endroit très mignon pour déguster un smoothie : Cho-To, installez-vous en haut, pour avoir une vue sur le marché. Vous pouvez acheter au marché en bas puis monter à l’étage la manger, perché sur votre tabouret. 30k le smoothie.

Le lendemain matin, levé 6h pour assister au marché flottant de Cai Rang. Retour sur l’embarcadère pour retrouver le bateau qui nous emmènera pour le prix le plus dérisoire. On s’n sort pour 50 k par personne. Ouf !

La balade dure 4 heures sur le Mékong. Une guide monté à bord, nous explique les environs. En plus du marché, nous faisons plusieurs pauses sur des lieux tel que la fabrique à nouille, la fabrique à sauce. On peut ainsi découvrir comment sont fait ses mets Vietnamiens. Ensuite, si on le souhaite on peu s’arrêter sur une petite berge pour faire du vélo, pour cela il faut rajouter 2 euros. Ça semble sympa, on s’y rend! 1h de balade en vélo pour admirer des petites branches du Mékong. Mais surtout le plus impressionnant c’est lorsque l’on s’arrête près d’un grand arbre vieux de + de 130 ans dont le troncs et les branches remplissent plus de 5000 m2. Impressionnant!

Dans l’ensemble une matinée très sympa, même si il ne faut pas s’attendre à un marché flottant digne des photos colorés que l’on voit souvent.

A lire aussi

Que faire à Holbox, au Mexique ?

Petit paradis entre le golfe du Mexique et la mer des Caraïbes. Les maisons s’étendent le long du sable blanc et l’eau turquoise.  Les maisons

Bacalar

Que faire à Bacalar au Mexique ?

Très jolie ville entourée d’un grand lagon aux 7 couleurs. Beaucoup moins prisée que certaines villes de la péninsule. Je recommande vivement de passer quelques

Recevez mes bons plans voyages